I am not a morning person

I really don’t like morning people.  They are so bright and perky first thing in the morning.  Up with no trouble at all, often without an alarm clock.  Pop out of bed and hop off to the next thing.  They’re up and moving and getting things accomplished.  It seems like they can take over the world!  How in the world do they do it?  I’m such a grump in the morning – I can hit snooze on the alarm for an hour, and you DO NOT want to talk to me until I’ve had a cup of coffee.  (Now that I’ve switched to half-caff, it’s more like two cups.)  Left to my own choice, I would stay up until 2:00am and sleep until 10:00am.  That would be my ideal schedule.  Once I’ve fought with the alarm clock for a while, I roll out of bed and shuffle around the house.  No hopping and popping for me, no way, no how!  I really don’t like morning people.  I so want to be one!

And so, I’ve decided to embark on a quest.  A quest to become a morning person.  A war with my alarm clock.  My goal, for the next 40 mornings, is to get up the first time the alarm goes off.  This will either be at 6:30 or 6:00am, depending on what the day holds for me.  Mind you, I am a pathological snooze-hitter, so this will be no small feat.  In college (and vet school, and internship, and residency, and…) I was known for hitting that darn button for two solid hours, every nine minutes, until I finally HAD to get up to go to class.  Usually, I fell back to sleep in class.

Now, I know what everyone will say, “Just go to bed earlier.”  I have tried that.  It doesn’t seem to matter if I go to bed at 9:00pm or at 2:00am – my default is still to keep right on sleeping until at least 8:00am, usually more like 10:00am.  I so love my bed in the mornings!  I will not argue that going to bed at 2:00 in the morning is not conducive to getting up at 6:00.  It’s awful.  Just so we start on the same page, I usually shoot for bedtime around 10:00, which means I usually make it around 11:00.

So…  off to the races!  Wish me luck as I war with the alarm clock!

3 Responses to I am not a morning person

  1. Susan Miskovic says:

    Someone should find out if there is a gene for this! You had a 50/50 chance of inheriting it!

  2. Justin says:

    “Mind you, I am a pathological snooze-hitter, so this will be no small feat. In college (and vet school, and internship, and residency, and…) I was known for hitting that darn button for two solid hours, every nine minutes, until I finally HAD to get up to go to class.”

    I seem to recall a time where your escalating super-loud alarm clock woke ME up at the other end of the apartment forcing me to haul my butt out of my nice, warm, comfy bed and go poke you until you responded (literally). A dangerous venture if ever there was one.

Leave a Reply

