War, Day 20

3/17/10

Bedtime:  11:00 pm

Alarm:  6:00 am

Snooze:  once

Okay, so this morning the alarm went off and I very deliberately thought, “What difference does five minutes make?  I’m hitting that button!!!”  So I hit that button.  I thought.  Thirty minutes later, I rolled over and squinted at the clock.  6:30?! The alarm didn’t go off again!  And now I am late…

I am left with two options.  One, the snooze function on the alarm on my brand new phone does not work.  Two, instead of snooze, in my stupor, I hit dismiss.  Personally, I like option one better.  I’ll have to investigate today.

It figures, too.  I was doing so well – nineteen days in a row!  And then I lost it.  And, of course, this morning I am on a schedule.  I need to get the second half of my Western blot done this morning so I can leave before noon to go to Indianapolis for a meeting for the Indiana Veterinary Medical Association.  I’ll still make it, but it will be tight.  A 60-minute incubation in secondary antibody only goes so fast!

Yesterday I whined (yes, I whined) about how late the sun comes up in the Lafayette area.  Today I am going to whine about how late the sun goes down in the Lafayette area.  Last night, 8:00 pm Eastern Daylight Savings Time, and the sun was still up.  Oh, it was going down, sure, but it hadn’t quite made it yet.  Seriously?  It’s 8:00 at night, in March, and it’s still daylight?  This is ridiculous.  That is one of the things that used to drive me nuts when I lived in Lafayette.  Come June and July, it will be light until 10:00-10:30 at night.  That is crazy.

One Response to War, Day 20

  1. Justin says:

    It’s still dark at 7 in Maine 🙂

    You could try living in Alaska to get some perspective. It’s still light at midnight in the summer and still dark at 11Am in the winter.

Leave a Reply

