War, Day 26

3/23/10

Bedtime:  11:00 pm (I swear, I was shooting for 10:00)

Alarm:  6:00 am

Snooze:  once.  Well, okay, twice.  Sort of.

I have come to two realizations this morning.  First, I do feel some accountability to this site and the “get up with the stupid alarm” challenge I have set for myself.  (Maybe it would be easier if I didn’t call it the stupid alarm.)  Second, it’s pretty boring if I just plain get up every morning, and there’s no drama with the water or the electricity at home.

The first thing that went through my head after the shrill alarm this morning was, “Why is someone calling me in the middle of the night?”  This gave me a flash back to my internship and residency days when I would try to answer the phone when the alarm went off, or try to shut off the alarm when the pager went off, or any other combination of please-make-the-noise-stop-now.

I was having a dream about Lauren Graham.  She was on the internet on her phone, and she got a call and couldn’t figure out how to answer it.  Nothing against Lauren Graham – I love her.  Miss her in “Gilmore Girls” and I am loving her in “Parenthood.”  And I am sure she knows how to answer her phone.  Me, not so much.  At 6:00 in the morning.

I did, however, figure out how to reset the alarm from 6:00 to 6:15.  So I did.  And then at 6:15, I hit snooze.  Just once.  You would think that if I was awake enough to reset the alarm, I would be awake enough to just get up.  Apparently, I was not.  Once I did get up, I did not want to get out of the shower.  I was so warm and cozy.  I just wanted to stay there forever.  But I did not.  I got out of the shower, and got going with my day.

(Starbucks was having a “get a free pastry with drink purchase” this morning.  I am looking forward to my blueberry streusel muffin in a bit.)

I have my Western blots from yesterday soaking in the secondary antibody.  An hour of that, then an hour of washes, then a few minutes of exposure to X-ray film, and we’ll see what the rest of the week holds!  Wish me luck!

Leave a Reply

