War, Day 26

3/24/10

Bedtime: 10:45 pm

Alarm:  6:00 am (This is getting kind of old.  I miss sleeping in.)

Snooze:  zero

Okay, I felt a little back on track this morning when I didn’t hate the alarm.  Granted, I didn’t love it, but I didn’t despise it.  Now I am wishing for a good sleep in morning.  So can I say that I am back on track?  I guess my challenge wasn’t really to get up early – it was to get up well.  Which are different things.  So if I sleep in until 8:00 (or 9:00) on Saturday, as long as I get up with the alarm, then I am still doing well.  Good for me!

I finally got my Western blots to work!  The antibody I am using is way hot.  Basically, just a teeny little tiny bit of the antibody lights up any little amount of protein that I have in my sample.  I have to dilute my samples in half, and then dilute my antibody 1:200,000 to be able to see a discrete spot of protein.

1:200,000 dilution is crazy.  That’s like taking 4 teaspoons of water, and putting 0.00002 teaspoons of coffee, and calling it a good drink.  As John would say, “It’s like pissing in the ocean and trying to raise the tide.”  Except this time, the tide actually went up!  And, yes, it’s hard to measure that low.  I end up doing three rounds of serial dilutions to get it right.  But it works!  Yay me!

So, another two rounds of blots with different samples today and tomorrow…  And then I should be ready to head home on Friday evening.  Barring any new disasters.

Oh.  Boy.  Disaster.  Looks like I spoke too soon…  Back to the drawing board…

Leave a Reply

