War, Day 28

3/26/10

Bedtime:  11:00 pm

Alarm:  6:30 am

Snooze:  once.  And I loved every minute of it.

I will freely admit it.  I hit snooze this morning.  There is something so comforting about climbing back into the warm bed, if even for just a few (five) minutes.  I was more ready to get up at 6:35 than I was at 6:30.  I can’t quite figure out what makes a snooze-free morning.  The hours of sleep have something to do with it, sure, but that’s not the whole story.  Last night I slept the sleep of the dead.  I woke up in exactly the same position I fell asleep in.  And still, all I could think when the alarm went off the first time was, “More sleep, please.”  The second time, I got up with little complaint.  (Note, not with no complaint.)

And back to work.  You may have noticed that I have been having some trouble with my experiments lately.  It turns out that the secondary antibody I have been using cross-reacts with pretty much everything it can get its sticky little ends on.  Which is everything.  This is why I thought I needed to dilute my primary antibody down to nothing – the primary is actually doing its job.  The stupid secondary antibody is doing jobs that no one should be doing!!  If I wanted those other proteins highlighted, I would have bought antibodies that are supposed to stick to them!!

I called the company to find out what I was doing wrong.  They said, “Oh, you’re using rabbit antibody?  Well, rabbit cross-reacts with immunoglobulins from most species.  It has especially strong cross-reaction with horse and human immunoglobulins.  Everybody knows that.  You should be using donkey antibody.”  (I may be paraphrasing.)  Ahem.  Everybody does not know that.

Now, the package insert for the rabbit antibody says “The antibody may cross-react with immunoglobulins from other species.”  (That is a direct quote.)  How does “may cross-react” translate to “cross-reacts with every stupid protein in your sample, especially if it’s from a horse”?  I missed something here.

So, I ordered the donkey antibody.

I will be back at Purdue next week.

I need a vacation.

Leave a Reply

