Exercise in the MORNING?

I realized this weekend that even though I had fallen off the morning alarm wagon pretty desperately for a while, I am not doing too badly right now.  I got up this morning at 6:05am, after only one snooze hit.  And I’m okay with one 5-minute snooze.  I jumped (well, stumbled, really) right on to the Wii Fit.  Something about yoga with a virtual instructor before the treadmill makes things go a little better.  Makes the whole day go a little better, in fact.

I also realized this weekend that FlyLady‘s habit for next month is “Moving in May.”

The only time that I can manage to find for exercise (“activity,” if you’re a Weight Watcher or FlyBaby – we hate the “E” word!) is first thing in the morning.  No matter how I plan the day, or what I promise myself in the morning, something comes up.  All of a sudden there’s “no time” for activity later in the day.

And when exactly is “first thing,” anyway?

If I start any later than 6:30am, it’s way past 9:00 before I even start to think about sitting down at my computer for the day, and then the morning is shot.  So, is earlier better?  Well, not if I can’t get up, it’s not.  Stupid mornings.

At least the sun is up by 6:00am here now.  That makes it a bit easier.  For the next couple of months, anyway.

I have another goal for myself.  For the month of May, I am going to get up and do my “activity” at 6:00 in the morning, at least 5 days a week.  This will be tough when I have to go to Purdue and stay with friends (and it gets light later), but I’ll come up with something.

In the meantime, please meet my main activity equipment.  This is my treadmill.  He still needs a name.  I am partial to Bob (although after reading Goodeness Gracious’s misunderstanding with the name, perhaps I need a different one).  John is partial to Wilbur.  But he likes Wilbur for everything, so maybe he doesn’t get a vote.

This is the Wii Fit.  I use the female trainer, and occasionally call her the Wii B****, but that’s probably not appropriate.

Any ideas?  I’ll take ’em all.

2 Responses to Exercise in the MORNING?

  1. Cris says:

    Lol! I love the Wii name… my feelings are the same. She is sooo judgmental! Making funny noises while weighing…

    As for Bob… I say go with it 🙂 Just make sure any nearby preschoolers understand the lack of red tomatoes 😉

    • No preschoolers around here, so I really doubt I’d actually run into trouble with that kind of confusion. But saying something like, “I’m going to go jump on Bob for an hour” just doesn’t seem quite right.

Leave a Reply

