So far, so good

I said the other day that I was going to get up “early” and get some activity in at least five days a week for “Moving in May” with FlyLady.  I’m off to a pretty good start.  Saturday I got up at 7:30 (and that’s early for a Saturday!) and did 15 minutes of Wii Fit yoga and 30 minutes on Bob.

Then all hell broke loose with the car and the mud and all.  So I took Sunday off.

Actually, on Sunday I took on the very hard job of holding down my end of the couch while reading Stephen King’s “Under the Dome.”  But don’t let the quiet actions of sitting and reading fool you.  That’s one big book to hold!  It’s a hardback and over 1000 pages!  Quite the upper body work out.  Or something.  And really, what better way to start the week than by reading about a groundhog who gets sliced cleanly in half by an inexplicable invisible barrier?

Monday I was back at it again.  Got up at 6:10 (gasp!), did 20 minutes of yoga and 30 minutes of Bob.  Monday night while I was doing dishes, I noticed that my arms were a bit sore.  So were my sides.  I couldn’t figure out why, until Tuesday morning’s 6:10 am yoga session.  Who knew that just standing still and stretching could make you sore?  (Oh!  Or maybe it was the big heavy book from Sunday!)

Today I skipped the yoga, and just did a 25-minute interval workout with Bob at 6:15 am.  I thought the intervals would really kick my butt (supposed to go up to an 8.5 out of 10 on a “perceived exertion” scale), but it wasn’t that bad.  Perhaps that means I wasn’t working hard enough.  And, really, what’s the difference between 8 and 8.5 on this “perceived exertion” scale anyway?

Over all, I feel pretty good this week.  As much as I am resistant to getting up so early, I have to admit that when I am up, exercised, showered, and starting my day so early, I tend to be more productive for the rest of the day.  As long as I get enough sleep the night before.  Otherwise I crash around 6:00 pm, and there’s no moving me from there.

5 Responses to So far, so good

  1. Heather says:

    Sounds like you are off to a good start. I myself started essentially a coach to 5K program this week with the intent of running a 5K over Labor Day weekend.

    Good luck!

  2. Cris says:

    Sunday’s workout sounds like my kind of workout…sans the scary book… I am a wimp when it comes to that stuff 🙂

    Glad you and Bob are off and running 😉 My Bob is either my Yoga instructor and my daughter’s tomato!

  3. Justin says:

    I hate it when an inexplicable invisible dome cuts my town off from the res

Leave a Reply

