Garden party

Last weekend, District 9 of the Indiana Farm Bureau held a spring meeting at Family Roots Nursery in Dale, IN. It was a chilly, rainy day, but we had a blast inside the greenhouse!

Aaron and Andrea Peters, the owners, took care of most of the details for the day, and we all had a blast! Because we couldn’t really do much outside, they cleared a large area in the middle of the greenhouse, and we were able to have all our sessions and even lunch inside! DSC_0544

What a neat atmosphere!DSC_0547

We got a behind-the-scenes tour of how their operation works.DSC_0557

We learned about their irrigation and fertilizer systems.DSC_0566

And talked about where their plants come from (most are started on their farm in Illinois, and then shipped to the greenhouse in Indiana when they are close to ready for sale).DSC_0596

Aaron told us about the types of plants that Thomas and Abraham Lincoln planted in their gardens and on their farms. Lots of the plants and crops we use today can be traced back to that farm!DSC_0554

(He gets a little passionate about that subject.)DSC_0643

Andrea told us about container gardening.DSC_0602

And she made it look so easy! She even convinced me to bring home things for a container herb garden of my own. DSC_0614

And, of course, I played with my new camera.DSC_0585

There was so much inspiration, it was hard to keep my hands off the shutter!DSC_0577

It made me ready for spring!!DSC_0593

Look! A pineapple! (Did you know that in this climate it takes almost six years for a single fruit to grow to maturity? No wonder we don’t grow pineapples in Indiana! And see, I learned something on this trip, too!)DSC_0589

I really wish I had a green thumb… Maybe my flower gardens will magically look pretty this year? Or maybe I’ll head back to Family Roots Nursery for one of their free Saturday seminars to get help…

Yes, that’s probably smarter than waiting on magic.DSC_0630

BTW, all these photos are straight out of the camera (SOOC). Have I mentioned that I am in love?

2 Responses to Garden party

  1. Love these shots! Especially the baby pineapple! Well done!

Leave a Reply

