Sorghum Cookies

As promised, here’s something to do with that sorghum!

I have been told that not all sorghum cookie recipes are the same.  I have also been told that this recipe is, hands down, the absolute best you will find anywhere. 

I made a double batch of cookies over the weekend.  The recipe card at the bottom is for a single batch. 

Very simple ingredients.  All I had to go out and buy was ground ginger.  (And, frankly, I should have had some of that anyway.)

DSCN1382-1

First, cream together 3 cups of sugar with 2 cups of butter or shortening.  (We use Splenda instead around here.  The cookies still came out wonderful, and no one could tell!)

DSCN1383-1

Then add 4 eggs and 2 cups sorghum syrup.  (You could use regular molasses instead of the sorghum, but the cookies won’t taste quite the same.)

Sift together 8 cups flour, 4 teaspoons cinnamon, 2 teaspoons salt, 2 teaspoons ginger, and 8 teaspoons baking soda, and add to the mixer.

DSCN1385-1

Roll the dough into walnut-sized balls, and coat with sugar.  (I did use real sugar for this part.)

DSCN1386-1

Bake at 375 degrees F for 8 minutes. 

I love using my stoneware pans for baking, but everything seems to take just a bit longer to cook.  I baked the cookies for 9 minutes on the stoneware and 8 minutes on the non-stick cookie sheets.

DSCN1387-1

These cookies came out just perfect – slightly crispy on the outside, and soft and chewy in the middle.  They were the perfect complement for the homemade pumpkin pie ice cream we made later that night!

A double batch should make 7 dozen cookies.  I made my cookies a bit smaller, and came out with 110 cookies from the afternoon’s work.  Plenty to go around!!

sorghum cookies recipe card

Leave a comment